UN Trusteeship Council elects President and Vice President

16 August 2013

The United Nations Trusteeship Council today elected Alexis Lamek of France as its President and Peter Wilson of the United Kingdom as its Vice President.

Both candidates were elected by acclamation during a brief organizational meeting held at UN Headquarters in New York, during which the Council also adopted its provisional agenda.

The Trusteeship Council is a principal organ of the UN, created to administer 11 Trust Territories placed under the Organization’s care at its founding in 1945. The Council suspended operations when the last UN Trust Territory, Palau, attained independence in 1994.

Membership of the Council now comprises the five permanent members of the Security Council – China, France, Russia, United Kingdom and the United States. The Council’s future role is under consideration as part of the broader reform of the UN and the Security Council.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.

News Tracker: Past Stories on This Issue

UN Trusteeship Council Chamber reopens with new hopes for the future, Ban says

The Trusteeship Council Chamber has reopened in a royal ceremony at the United Nations Headquarters in New York after three years of grand-scale restoration.