Ban calls for more ratifications of global treaty banning nuclear tests

6 February 2012

Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon today urged eight key countries that have not ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) to do so and thus accelerate its entry into force, following the addition of its newest member, Indonesia.

The States in that group that have yet to ratify the treaty are China, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), Egypt, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan, and the United States.

Mr. Ban’s call was echoed by Indonesian Foreign Minister Marty Natalegawa, who met with the Secretary-General in New York.

During their meeting, Mr. Ban stressed the importance of Indonesia’s ratification of the CTBT given that the country is one of the so-called Annex 2 States, whose endorsement is required for the treaty to enter into force.

The two men also discussed the border dispute between Thailand and Cambodia, the progress in Myanmar, recent developments in North Africa and the Middle East, and the nuclear-weapon-free zone in South East Asia.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.

News Tracker: Past Stories on This Issue

Ban welcomes Indonesia’s ratification of treaty banning nuclear tests

Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon welcomed today’s ratification by Indonesia of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT), and encouraged all States that have not yet done so to sign and ratify this instrument to advance its entry into force.