Angola, Chile, Germany, Pakistan and Spain elected to serve on Security Council

27 September 2002
New non-permanent member receives congratulations

Angola, Chile, Germany, Pakistan and Spain were elected today to two-year terms as non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council.

They replace five non-permanent members leaving at the end of the year: Colombia, Ireland, Mauritius, Norway and Singapore.

Bulgaria, which currently holds the rotating Presidency of the Council, Cameroon, Guinea, Mexico and Syria will continue to serve as non-permanent members through 2003.

China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States are the permanent members of the Council, which is responsible under the UN Charter for maintaining international peace and security.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.