Security Council committee releases list of Liberian officials subject to travel ban

5 June 2001

The Security Council sanctions committee on Liberia has approved and published a list of senior Liberian Government and military officials subject to a travel ban.

The Committee took the step in accordance with a 7 March resolution of the Security Council, which stipulated that all countries "shall take the necessary measures to prevent the entry into or transit through their territories of senior members of the Government of Liberia and its armed forces and their spouses."

The ban also covered any other individuals providing financial and military support to armed rebel groups in countries neighbouring Liberia, in particular the Revolutionary United Front (RUF) in Sierra Leone.

The Committee said the list would be updated regularly.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.