Fostering economic integration in East Africa

29 February 2012

As the East African Community consisting of Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda and Burundi has agreed on a customs union and the beginnings of a common market, the EAC together with the International Monetary Fund will co-host a conference to discuss benefits of regional integration and future macroeconomic challenges faced by the region. Naoyuki Shinohara, Deputy Managing Director of the IMF, will be hosting the gathering. Rebecca Kaufman reports….

Duration: 2’36”


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.