South Sudan becomes newest member of UN health agency

27 September 2011

The world’s newest country, South Sudan, today became a member of the World Health Organization (WHO) after accepting the constitution of the United Nations agency as the annual UN event to promote support for global pacts and conventions drew to a close.

South Sudan, which became independent in July and a UN Member State later the same month, becomes the 194th member of WHO, the world’s pre-eminent health agency. UN Member States automatically become WHO members if they accept its constitution.

The step from South Sudan was one of eight treaty actions taken today at UN Headquarters in New York, bringing the total for the five-day treaty promotion event to 88.

Laos also signed the multilateral agreement for establishing a think tank for landlocked developing countries (LLDCs), which is set to be built in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

Togo and Slovenia signed the Nagoya Protocol, a text aimed at encouraging the more equitable sharing of genetic resources and their benefits, while Togo also signed a protocol on biosafety.

Mauritania signed the International Convention for the Protection of All Persons from Enforced Disappearance as well as the Optional Protocol to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, which Turkey ratified.

The treaty event is the UN’s annual attempt to encourage States to ratify, accede or sign up to global conventions and therefore promote the application of international law.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.