Ban welcomes power-sharing deal in Madagascar

7 November 2009

Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon today welcomed the power-sharing agreement reached by Madagascar''s current and former leaders and urged them to implement the deal to resolve months of political wrangling in the Indian Ocean country.

Madagascar''s four past and present leaders -- Andry Rajoelina, Marc Ravalomanana, Didier Ratsiraka and Albert Zafy -- struck the power-sharing deal today following talks in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.

Mr. Ban "urges the Malagasy leaders to speedily inaugurate the Government of National Unity and to put in place the transitional institutions foreseen in the Maputo agreement," his spokesperson said in a statement.

In early August the four leaders reached a separate power-sharing deal in Maputo, Mozambique, but were subsequently unable to agree on the composition of a transitional government.

Mr. Ban''s spokesperson said the UN would continue to support Madagascar "through the transition and beyond," led by former Mozambican president Joaquim Chissano, who has been working with the African Union (AU), the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the International Organization of the Francophonie to mediate a solution to the political tensions.

For almost a year Madagascar has been engulfed by political problems that culminated in the resignation in March of Mr. Ravalomanana as president. He was replaced as national leader by Mr. Rajoelina, the former mayor of the capital, Antananarivo.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.

News Tracker: Past Stories on This Issue

Madagascar: Ban urges leaders to build on momentum for unity government

Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon today called on Madagascar’s leaders to quickly conclude talks on a transitional government following progress made under United Nations-backed mediation in the crisis that led to the President’s ouster earlier this year.