Four Pakistani militants added to UN terrorism sanctions list

11 December 2008

The United Nations Security Council has imposed sanctions, including a travel ban and assets freeze, on four leaders of a Pakistani militant group blamed by India for last month’s deadly terrorist attack in Mumbai.

The four – Muhammad Saeed, Zaki-ur-Rehman Lakhvi, Haji Muhammad Ashraf and Mahmoud Mohammad Ahmed Bahaziq, known under various spellings and variations – were added yesterday to a list established by the so-called 1267 committee of people and firms facing sanctions for ties to Al-Qaida or the Taliban.

The committee named Mr. Saeed as leader of Lashkar-e-Tayyiba, Mr. Lakhvi as its chief of operations, Mr. Ashraf as its chief of finance, and Mr. Bahaziq as its financier.

It also listed a host of alternative names and spellings for Lashkar-e-Tayyiba, Al-Rasheed Trust and Al Akhtar Trust, which are under committee sanctions.

The list consists of four sections and currently contains 507 names: individuals associated with the Taliban (142 individuals); entities and other groups and undertakings associated with the Taliban (none); individuals associated with Al-Qaida (253 individuals); and entities and other groups and undertakings associated with Al-Qaida (112 entities).


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.