Five countries begin 2-year terms as non-permanent members of Security Council

2 January 2003
UN Security Council in session

Angola, Chile, Germany, Pakistan and Spain have joined the United Nations Security Council as non-permanent members, beginning their two-year terms on 1 January.

Those countries replace Colombia, Ireland, Mauritius, Norway and Singapore on the 15-nation body, and join permanent members China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States.

Wednesday also marked a changeover in the Council’s rotating Presidency, as Ambassador Jean Marc de La Sablière of France will preside for the month of January. He takes over for Ambassador Alfonso Valdivieso of Colombia, who, as a parting gift, presented the Council a six-month supply of Colombia coffee.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.