Bulgaria, Cameroon, Guinea, Mexico and Syria elected to Security Council

8 October 2001

The United Nations General Assembly today elected Bulgaria, Cameroon, Guinea, Mexico and Syria as new non-permanent members of the Security Council for two-year terms to replace the five nations leaving at the end of this year.

The outgoing non-permanent members of the Council are Bangladesh, Jamaica, Mali, Tunisia and Ukraine.

Colombia, Ireland, Mauritius, Norway and Singapore will continue to serve as non-permanent Council members during 2002, completing their two-year terms. China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States are permanent members of the Security Council, which is charged with the maintenance of international peace and security.

In this morning's election, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Guinea and Syria received the required two-thirds majority of votes in the first round of balloting. A second round was required before Mexico was elected over the Dominican Republic.

Bulgaria last served on the Council in 1985-1986, Cameroon in 1974-1975, Guinea in 1972-1973 and Syria in 1970-1971. Mexico last served in 1980-1981.


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.