Thirteen countries recognized for fighting hunger

Thirteen countries recognized for fighting hunger


Political will and commitment by governments and people throughout the world can make it possible to defeat hunger and malnutrition, according to a senior official of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

The UN agency announced that thirteen countries have joined a growing list of nations that have made strides in combating undernourishment.

They are Brazil, Cameroon, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Iran, Kiribati, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, the Philippines and Uruguay.

Sandra Ferrari spoke with Pietro Gennari, the Director of the Statistics Division at FAO and first asked him why the 13 countries are being recognized.

Duration: 4’39”

Photo Credit
UN Photo/Marco Dormino