Algeria chairs bloc of developing countries and China

12 January 2012

As the new chair of the Group of 77 and China, Algeria has vowed to combine efforts with developed countries to resolve the financial crisis.

The G 77 is a bloc of developing countries including China, whose goal is to advance their economic well-being.

The group was established in 1964 by 77 states, but presently includes 132 countries, representing over 60% of the world population.

It’s the third time that the North African country has held the G 77 presidency.

Jocelyne Sambira reports.

Duration: 3'16''


♦ Receive daily updates directly in your inbox - Subscribe here to a topic.
♦ Download the UN News app for your iOS or Android devices.